Update Number Two

December 21, 2010

I know there are some of you praying for me this morning and for that I am so grateful!

Here’s an update…….

Apparently, the eclipse brought in a lot of business to the labor and delivery ward last night and they are unable to support an induction right now at 5:30 a.m.  So they want me to call them back later on this morning.

So.

I SHOULD think like this…..Well, I’ve waited this long so what’s a few more hours?

But, actually?  I’m thinking like this….Man!  Let’s get this show on the road!  WAIT!  No!  This is okay.  Good.

And, vintage Allison…..

Maybe I’ll have time to go to the thrift store beforehand!

But here’s the deal, I’m ready but not ready.

Ever felt that?

No?

Just me?

Bummer!

I’m ready for this huge belly of mine to turn into soft, mushiness so that I can sleep on my tummy and turn over in the night without having an entire team of football players assist me.  I’m ready to not have to go to the potty 86 times a night.  I’m ready to be able to NOT have heartburn at the mention of the word.

But I’m NOT ready for the discomfort and pain.  I’m NOT ready to cry every time I hear her cry because she’s hungry and I’m going to have to nurse her with my incredibly painful, sore, bloody, blistery…..um……nursers.  (And yes, she will be positioned properly and yes, she’ll have good latch-on and yes, I am fair-skinned, wimpy, and have had this after every. baby.  No matter what I tried.)

The after part is always icky.  It just is.  There’s no way around it.

Except, maybe, if Eve hadn’t done that stupid thing she did.

I’ll try to update again but if you don’t hear from me for the rest of the day, know that I am in the hospital, doing that thing I do every year or two.

Have big, beautiful babies who make all the other moms on the labor floor jealous.

Yeah.  That’s why I do it.

Totally.

Leave a Reply

