Amazing

March 19, 2011

I saw this video a few years ago and it is the single most precious act I have ever seen in my life.  Just hearing the music now makes me tear up.

Today, two of my boys asked to see it.  I told them that I would show it to them but that I couldn’t watch it again.  It literally reduces me to a quivering ball of gasping , gulping tears.  If you have been living on another planet and have not seen it, here it is.  First though?  Get a towel ready.  Not a hand towel.  Not even a bath towel.  Get a HUGE, THIRSTY beach towel.  Now.  You’ll need it.

Afterwards, keep reading because you’ll get my boys’ take on it.  And it’ll be worth it.

Heart-wrenching, huh?  Have you caught your breath yet?  Picked yourself off the floor?  Wrung out your beach towel?

Yeah.  Told you so.

So I showed it to 10-Year-Old and 12-Year-Old.  They hadn’t seen it before but they had heard how Mommy reacted to it and wanted to check it out.  I wasn’t sure that they were getting it part of the way through, so I paused it and explained to them about the son’s handicap and what it meant that his dad did this with him and I cried and cried while telling them even though I refused to watch it.

I started it again and watched their expressions, waiting for the emotion to hit them and hoping to see them crumble under the weight of the sacrifice and love they were witnessing.

But I got nothin’.

Just blinking and the occasional glance at me to see what the big deal was.

And when it was over, the only thing I got was this from 10-Year-Old…….

“Man!  He makes his dad do all the work!”

Also?  As the video was playing and I started crying…..AGAIN…..4-Year-Old came up and started yelling over the music, telling me that he was wearing his new underwear and IT IS TOO TIGHT!

3 Responses to “Amazing”

  1. Alisha Sullivan said

    should have listened and got the towel..Scared my kids with my sobbing! lol Thanks for sharing..Funny how kids don’t react the same way..I was crying while reading a book to my kids the other and they just thought I was weird and one ran off to draw me a picture of a horse so I would stop crying and finish the story! lol (I’m pregnant so its way worse than normal)

  2. Thank you for the reminder. It’s always good to see this video. I think it takes having children of one’s own to “get it.” That switch that gets turned on the first time you hold your child. We are never the same. Praise God.

  3. Susan said

    I saw this video when I was pregnant with number 4. Not a good video to see when you are expecting. I sobbed like a baby.

Leave a Reply

