A Recipe

March 23, 2011

I know.   A recipe.

Weird.

Because there aren’t enough recipe sites online, huh?

But I HAVE found that sites for large families on a tight budget are few and far between.

My daughter has a private family blog and posted a picture of the hamburger buns that I made with a new recipe recently.

My cute little cousin, who is privy to the blog because she’s…..um…..FAMILY,  asked for the recipe.

(As an aside, I always call her “my cute little cousin” because, one, she’s cute and always will be to me because I’m a dried-up hag compared to her and, two, she IS little.  My whole family is tall, pretty much.  My cute little cousin?  Not so much.  Which TOTALLY adds to her cuteness!  Ain’t nobody callin’ ME cute, that’s for sure!)

Anyway.

I thought it might be a good idea to post the recipe here.  Don’t know about you, but I’ve searched for YEARS for a good hamburger bun recipe that couldn’t also serve as a doorstop or anchor for a rowboat.

And Yummy Man has definite Hamburger Bun Standards.  This is the man who grew up on Twinkies and Wonder Bread.

So he’s a tad bit picky about some of the stuff I make and try to pass off as edible.

Anyway.  Here it is.  It’s from Martha Stewart and if I need to tell you the significance of THAT then welcome back from that other planet you were on.

A few things……This makes a LOT.  Like probaby 3 dozen or so.  Also, these directions are fitted to the fact that I have a ROCKIN’ mixer.  A Bosch.  If you have a KitchenAid, you could half this and do it the same way.  If you’d like to do it by hand, Google “Martha Stewart Hamburger Buns”.

HOMEMADE HAMBURGER BUNS

6 c. warm water

8 T honey or molasses

4 t. yeast

6 T olive oil (I’m sure any other oil would work just as well)

16 c. (or so) of flour (I have recently switched from all home-milled whole wheat to half whole wheat and half all-purpose for frugality’s sake)

***Mix water, honey, oil, and yeast in mixer on low until yeast is dissolved.  Slowly add flour, mixing until dough forms and sides of bowl are cleaned.  Let mix for 3 minutes or so.  Dump into large, greased bowl and flip so that the dough is greased on both sides.  Cover and let rise in warm spot until doubled, about 30 minutes.  Preheat oven to 400.  Punch dough down and dump onto greased countertop.  Throw it against counter a few times to get out any bubbles.  Pick off pieces of dough around the size you want, form into ball by tucking edges under all around.  Place on greased baking sheet, 2 inches apart.  Cover and let stand until double, another 30 minutes or so.  Bake 20 minutes.  Let cool.

I have made buns, loaves, french bread/baguettes, and dinner rolls with this recipe.  Fantastic all!  Tonight, I made Bierocks (or Runzas) with them.  Fantastic again!  With the mix of wheat and white, they are the perfect consistency and weight while still being pretty healthy.   For the dinner rolls, I use smaller balls of dough and put in a greased 9″ x 13″ dish, balls touching slightly.  They rise high and fluffy but be very careful if you put butter and honey on them.  You might fall off your chair and hurt yourself.

4 Responses to “A Recipe”

  1. Wow! I cannot remember the last time someone called me cute! You just made my day! Just for the record…my mom is 5’10-5’11, my sister is just about 6′, dad is 6′. I am 5’2″ =) I hug your dad’s waist and he hugs my hair. Thanks for the recipe! I have been wanting to make more of our breads because they are just so expensive. I have a Kitchen Aid mixer and 7 less kids…so I will probably half the recipe and give it whirl! If it turns out I will post pics on my blog! THanks again!!

  2. Kathy said

    I’m trying the bread recipe that you shared. I’ll let you know what Jon and Nacho think…I’m still Gluten Free! The aroma of bread about kills me. It is truly becoming a labor of love!

  3. littlesiesta said

    No one around here goes crazy about homemade bread as much as I do, but I discovered that it tasted a little bland. Do you add any salt to the dough?

    On another note, I had a moment of inspiration and added a new post to my blog – yes, a recipe blog of sorts – tonight. Thought I would share it with you, if you are interested: http://littlesiesta.wordpress.com/2011/03/30/mother-hubbards-chicken-quesadilla-wraps/

    • oliveplants said

      Hey Kathy!!
      So funny….I was thinking today that I would add a teaspoon or so of salt next time bec they ARE kinda bland in that way. We eat them w/ salted butter so I don’t usually notice it but you’re right….more salt next batch. When you try it let me know! I won’t get to more bread until this weekend.
      Oh, and how did I not know you have a blog? And a cooking one at that? Wow! I’m such a loser. If you cook ANYTHING like you’re mom, I’ll be sure not to put any more recipes on MY blog because the greatest thing I make tastes like dog food when compared to even the ICE CUBES that your mom makes! Seriously!
      Hey, thanks for writing! I love knowing that all the way over there, you’re reading my blog…..and now, I can read YOURS!

Leave a Reply

