I’m Really Not Sure

October 27, 2011

Have you ever had your child say something that was really funny, but you had no idea what he or she was talking about?

Yeah.

This morning, as I was getting 3-Year-Old dressed, he said this…..

“Mommy?  My snapper hurts.”

(Aside.  AS I AM TYPING THIS, tears are running down my cheeks.  That’s how funny this is to me.  And I don’t know why.  I just had to wipe my eyes with the sleeve of my sweater.  Seriously.)

I immediately started laughing but not in a loud, THAT-IS-SO-STINKIN’-FUNNY kind of way.  

It was more like a I-have-no-idea-why-that-word-makes-me-laugh-in-relation-to-this-child’s-body-but-I-can’t-stop kind of way.

I literally had tears running down my cheeks and DROPPING ONTO THE CARPET.

I KNOW!

So I asked him what his snapper was (laughing again just typing the word), and he kinda vaguely and confusedly fluttered his hands over his body, pulled down his wool kneesocks and showed me  where it hurt.

For all you medical types out there, apparently your snapper is somewhere close to the back and/or sides of your knees.

I’m thinking it’s where the tops of your kneesocks SNAP onto your legs when your mom puts them on but I can’t be sure.  I’m certain that there is some medical website or journal you can look in to confirm this.

I didn’t have the inclination to look it up at the time.  I was too busy CRYING my laughter while this hunk of Amazingly Adorable Kid stood in front of me with a confused grin on his face, secretly vowing to never say the word “snapper” again.

MAN, I hope he forgets!

One Response to “I’m Really Not Sure”

  1. Heather said

    It made me laugh and I was not even there! Love the funnies my kids come up with:)

Leave a Reply

