A Running Post. In Case You Came for the Chronicles of My Life as a Mom to Many, Many, MANY children, Half of Whom Are Having Serious Issues Being Obedient at Bedtime. But I’ll Save That for a Non-Running Post Since, Like I Said, This is a Post About Running.

January 12, 2012

(I’m good with titles, aren’t I?)

So I found three races to run this spring/summer.

(I call them races because it sounds really cool and hard-core but in my case, it will be about running with a crowd of strangers and paying for that privilege.  Also, because it sounds like I run really fast when the reality is FAR from that.  Like, in another galaxy, so far away that scientists haven’t even discovered its existence yet.)

Some of my kids are going to run two of the races with me which is really cool.

If the novelty doesn’t wear off before May, which it could.  Right now, I think the only reason that some of them are even training for the races are so that they can run on that big motorized toy that sits in our laundry room……the treadmill.

The first two races are both 5ks, which ALSO sounds cool and hard-core but is really only 3.1 miles.

I’m almost to the point where I am back up to that mileage on a daily basis.  The miscarriage this past summer took a LOT out of me and it has taken me forever to get back up near the 3 mile mark.

(And no snorting and giggling if some of you run that as a warm-up.  If I catch you, I’ll have to play my Had-An-11lb.-Baby-On-The-Living-Room-Floor card and you do NOT want to make me do THAT!)

The last race is run near midnight one night this summer and apparently has a huge turn-out because of the midnight sun/running at midnight thing.  And now I have a weird desire to be part of that crowd and I’ll be dragging Yummy Man along with me.  I say “dragging” because Yummy Man likes running almost as much as he would like a bloody hole in the head with exposed and bulging brain matter.

But THAT race?  Is a 10k.

6.2 miles.

Scary mary, like my sister says but she never reads my blog so I can steal funny quotes from her without giving her proper credit.  Also?  She has way better skin than I do and she’s a MUCH sweeter mom than I am, but don’t tell her because she might get a big head and then she’d look weird.

Tonight I begin officially training for this race and I am pretty stinkin’ excited.

You know…..as much as I can get excited running like a hamster in its cage….. in my laundry room.

Yeah.  Not very hard-core, is it?

(I’ll make sure that I get back to my blogging roots in my next post because I know how much you all hold your collective breath, waiting to hear about my awesome life.  Wait.  I meant LOUD life.  Oops.  Typo.)

3 Responses to “A Running Post. In Case You Came for the Chronicles of My Life as a Mom to Many, Many, MANY children, Half of Whom Are Having Serious Issues Being Obedient at Bedtime. But I’ll Save That for a Non-Running Post Since, Like I Said, This is a Post About Running.”

  1. Mindy said

    Cool!!! That midnight race would be awesome! Happy training!

  2. Mother said

    Oh mercy. Glad it’s you and not me! Have fun running!

  3. I do enjoy hearing about your amazing funny life. I can’t even imagine running a 1K let alone a 5K. I will be praying for you…

    love and miss you much, Kate in Tucson

Leave a Reply

