Wherein I’m a Big Baby

January 26, 2012

So here’s the deal……tomorrow morning, I am having all of my wisdom teeth removed.

I’m not happy about it.

In fact?  I’m slightly nauseous just thinking about it.

Why?  Well, because I’m terrified of pain.  And not in a normal, everyday, regular-people-are-scared-of-pain-too kind of way.

If you don’t know this about me already, then you haven’t been reading this blog very long.

I’m terrified of pain.

Didn’t used to be this way.  But then I had a 10-pound baby in less than 55 minutes in a bathtub in Bavaria after 15 contractions and the violence of that experience left me with an extreme fear of replicating that kind of pain ever again.

(Wow.  That was an impressive sentence, wasn’t it?  Read it again really fast and it comes off as very impressive.  Trust me.  I know these things.)

This is where the “Big Baby” part of the title comes in.

I’m scared.

Like….REALLY scared.

Not so much about the actual surgery because I will be put to sleep completely, but about the recovery.  And how there won’t be any narcotics involved because I forget to breathe when I take narcotics, so no doctor worth his salt will let me get within 10 miles of a narcotic.

So Tylenol will be it.  Tylenol will help me make it through having 4 huge, bloody craters in my mouth.

See?  Big baby.

So if you think of me any in the next 24 hours, you can pray for me.

That I’ll make it through the surgery okay and will wake up from it and will not die from the pain thereafter.

And that the Lord will release me from the dramatics of this event and let it be NO BIG DEAL!

Please note that I will take no offense whatsoever if you use the words “big” and “baby” while praying for me.

I totally deserve it.

 

8 Responses to “Wherein I’m a Big Baby”

  1. Big Baby's Mother said

    Ok, you BIG BABY, we will certainly pray for you some More! It will be a privilege to pray for you, you BIG BABY! Understand your stress. It was a great post, you Big Baby!

  2. Heather said

    I’ll be praying. I’ve had them out and it is not fun, but I think it will be less traumatic than you think. Or, at least, I am hoping it is for you:) I always just imagine Jesus with me when I’m in pain and suffering and think of how if He did what He did for me, I can certainly try hard to muster up the strength to get through it?

  3. Sharon said

    I said a prayer for you!!!

  4. wow. all four extracted on the same day? how are you supposed to chew? or are you going to be on a liquid diet for awhile? When I had 2 wisdom teeth extracted, it really was no big deal. But there wasn’t any surgery involved as they were already visible. I ate a BLT when I got home. I will pray that your recovery was as painless and uneventful as mine.

  5. I think I left this link for you last time you talked about wisdom teeth, but here it is again…how I got through wisdom-teeth-removal with only Tylenol and ICE!

    http://www.oliveplants.com/wisdomteeth.html

    (Pay no attention to my URL. I wasn’t trying to steal your name from you; in fact I didn’t yet know you existed when I bought the domain name. :))

    Elisabeth

  6. kim newhouse said

    Should’ve used the cute little doctor in Tucson who makes it all so easy! Praying you got a good guy up there to do the dirty deed….

  7. I pray you are recovering well and that your pain has not been as bad as expected…..

  8. Heather said

    So, how did the wisdom teeth procedure go for you?

Leave a Reply

