Vacation

September 14, 2012

If you just got here and are wondering what’s going on, scroll down and read the explanation of where I’ve been and why I’ve been such a blogging loser.

If you’ve already read that, and have dared to return, I’m going to reward you with…..are you sitting down?…..PICTURES!

I KNOW! ASTOUNDING!

I’m a little weird about putting my kids’ pictures on the internet and I make no apologies for that.  It’s just the way I am.  But I have a lot of pictures that I CAN post so I’m hoping you’re in the mood.

Please be in the mood because I’m so in love with these pictures, it’s pathetic.



There are a few pictures I took out the window in Anchorage on the way to Homer.  Homer is a small, quaint town on the southeastern coast of Alaska.  We rented a house on the Kachemak Bay there.  The house we stayed in was on a 600-acre estate of a family who raised their 8 children in a 400-foot rough cabin.

This was taken in front of the original homestead.  Yummy Man and I walked through this meadow, trying to make it down to the ocean.  The problem with Homer is that it’s not like the east coast beaches that I’m used to.  Did you know that there are beaches in the world that have to be repelled to?  On real estate brochures in Homer, it actually states how many feet UP the house is on the bluffs……as in 1500 feet.  How dumb am I that I finally understand what the word “bluffs” means?


The next day we took the kids to the homestead to tour the little house so they would understand when we told them to quit whining about their lives….they COULD be living in a 400-square-foot cabin in the most beautiful place in the world. Yeah…THAT’LL get ’em! So they ran out in the meadow in front of the cabin and proceeded to be stinkin’ adorable and incredibly photogenic.

image

A few years ago, we visited the Grand Canyon.  We were only there about 10 minutes because, 9 children standing on the edge of the largest hole in the world just didn’t go over well with me so when Yummy Man finally gave in to my pleadings to “Can we go NOW?”, we left really quickly.  The point of this little tidbit is that, the pictures I took there just can’t capture the awesomeness of that place.  I don’t know that they could’ve even if I had had a very expensive camera.  It is just beyond description in ANY medium.  I feel the same way about the beauty of Homer.  It is just stunning.  The juxtaposition of the ocean and the mountains and the ice fields and the green grass and the dark sand of the beach and the blue of the sky.  Wow.  Just….wow.

By the way, I took all of these pictures on my cell phone.  Some of them were shot in the van, going 60 mph, and you can see the blur of the brush in the foreground.  All of the ones I am posting here were then edited with a photo editor called Pixlromatic.  The people I know who enjoy photography would hate this editor, but it works for me because I can just choose the template I like in a matter of seconds and BOOM!  It’s done.  I don’t have the time to ratchet the “warmth” up or the pixels down or any of the other 462 choices that there are in editing software.  This works for me.  I’m happy with the results.  I’m not entering any contests.  And I’m okay with that.

Here are some pictures taken from the balcony of the house we stayed in.  I know that these probably look fake, but they are not.  It is THAT beautiful.


image
image

And these are random ones around Homer, mostly on the ocean because that’s why we went there.
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image

That’s a house waaaaayyyy down there and it’s sitting on a bluff a few thousand feet above the beach. We should pray for the unfortunate people of Homer who have to live in such hideous surroundings. I asked one lady we met where she goes for a vacation and she said
she doesn’t take vacations. She realizes the beauty she lives in every day and told us she thanks God every day that she gets to live in Homer.

Love that.

I have more pictures if you’re interested. I’m out of space for this post but if you want to see more, leave a comment. If you’d rather not see more pictures but, instead, would like nothing more than my witty musings on life with 10 walking megaphones, you can say that too.

13 Responses to “Vacation”

  1. zum said

    You say you’re “not entering any contests”.

    My question to you is, “Why Not?!”. With pictures like that, you would win in a heartbeat!

    I vote to see more of your pictures! Post ’em!

  2. Mother said

    GREAT pictures! GORGEOUS! Thanks for sharing!

    Can you give us more info about the photo editing website you mentioned? I want my pics to look as good as yours! :). Thanks!

    • oliveplants said

      It’s actually an Android app. So wherever you download your apps, look for Pixlromatic. You probably won’t like it because you’re way more into photography and better at it than I am,but you should try it. It’s so quick and easy and you can do quite a bit with it! It works great for me! =)

  3. More pictures please. 🙂

  4. Mindy said

    So beautiful!!! The colors are amazing! I would love to be there right now! Thanks for sharing!

  5. Dasa Williams said

    Stunning! Love your posts, love the pics. Would gladly see more. Have family living in Homer and i’m glad to see what life is like for the poor souls. Still miss your spirit and wit at HEM. »:~)

  6. CReeves said

    Great pictures looks beautiful!

  7. Becky said

    I love Homer! My sister lives near there. I lived up the road (Ninilchik) for several years. That’s the Alaska I know and love! Glad you got to take a vacation there. Please let me know if you go to the Peninsula again… You need to meet my sisters!

  8. Mother said

    Wow! Great photography!

    Oh yes, I am glad that one of my favorite authors is back-in-business; I missed her epistles!

    palmettoboy

  9. Kristin said

    Anyone would be crazy to NOT want to see more of that beauty in pictures!

    But, news about the walking megaphones is always good too 😉

    Welcome back!
    ~k

  10. Thanks for sharing the pics. Would love to see more.

  11. cousin Tonya said

    Love the pictures, I think you said it best when you said WOW!

  12. Alisha Sullivan said

    ummm..do I have to choose just one?? I love the pics! I feel relaxed and sleepy just looking at them..though the late hour might have a little something to do with the sleepy part. I totally come for the stories though! You make me smile that cheesy smile that makes my hubby ask who I am talking to. lol…plus its heartwarming to see another mom love her family so much but also be real about how ridiculous funny and hard life can be at the same time! Hope you continue to feel inspired to write since I so enjoy my few minutes of visiting your life through your blog!

Leave a Reply

